CHANGES: Ramaphosa Reshuffles Cabinet After Weeks Of Riots And Looting

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa PHOTO | PHILL MAGAKOE | AFP


JOHANNESBURG, South Africa-SHIFTMEDIA- President Cyril Ramaphosa has reshuffled his cabinet after widespread riots and looting rocked the rainbow nation three weeks ago.

While making the National Executive changes on Thursday Night, Ramaphosa said he was doing so to address the several challenges the nation is faced with.

“Fellow South Africans, this evening, I am announcing certain changes to the National Executive.

This comes at a time when the country is facing several challenges and we are called upon to undertake several tasks at once,” he said.

He said he wants the new executive to immediately accelerate the vaccination program to over come the Covid-19 pandemic.

Ramaphosa also said following the recent riots and looting that rocked the nation, he wants to ensure the return of peace and stability in South Africa.


“We are mobilising all available resources and capabilities to rebuild our economy and provide relief to those most vulnerable, “ he assured the nation rocked with the deadly Covid 19 infections and deaths. Ramaphosa also filled the position left vacant following the death of Minister Jackson Mthembu, and Deputy Minister Bavelile Hlongwa.


In the new appointments, former Deputy Minister Parks Tau has been named as MEC in Gauteng. This province was the hardest hit regarding looting when South Africans protested the detention of former President Jacob Zuma.


New positions of Health and Finance were also filled after Minister Zwelini Mkhize (Health) requested to step down.

Similarly, Finance Minister Tito Mboweni was excused from his duties.


With respect to ministers, I am making the following new appointments:

– The Presidency: Mr. Mondli Gungubele

– Communications and Digital Technologies: Ms. Khumbudzo Ntshavheni

– Defence and Military Veterans: Ms. Thandi Modise

– Finance: Mr. Enoch Godongwana

– Health: Mr. Joe Phaahla

– Human Settlements: Ms. Mmamoloko Kubayi

– Public Service and Administration: Ms. Ayanda Dlodlo

– Small Business Development: Ms. Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams

– Tourism: Ms Lindiwe Sisulu

– Water and Sanitation: Mr. Senzo Mchunu

Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula will be deployed to a new position, and we thank her for service to the nation and dedication to her responsibilities.

With respect to deputy ministers, I am making the following appointments:

– The Presidency: Ms. Pinky Kekana will come in as a second Deputy Minister

– Agriculture, Rural Development and Land Reform: Ms. Zoleka Capa

– Communications and Digital Technologies: Mr. Philly Mapulane

– Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Ms. Thembi Nkadimeng

– Health: Dr. Sibongiseni Dhlomo

– Mineral Resources and Energy: Dr. Nobuhle Nkabane

– Public Service and Administration: Dr. Chana Pilane-Majake

– Small Business Development: Mr. Sdumo Dlamini

– Transport: Ms Sindisiwe Chikunga

– Water and Sanitation: Ms Dikeledi Magadzi

Mr. Zizi Kodwa is appointed as Deputy Minister in the Presidency responsible for state security.

Shift Media News

Read Previous

RECOVERED: Stolen Late Hon. Abiriga’s Car Found Abandoned In DRC

Read Next

REMANDED: “Medics” Who Administered Fake Covid 19 Vaccines Charged

Leave a Reply